Auto Classifieds Auto Classifieds > Car Knowledge

Does this car sale sound legitimate?

(2011-05-02 14:30:12)
1. Déjà Vu Says: I saw a Nissan Maxima on Craigslist that I was interested in. It's a 2009 with only 40k miles. I e-mailed and was hoping to know why it was so cheap. She basically said she moved to Portugal and couldn't take the car with her and didn't have anyone in the US to help her sell it so she wants to do it through eBay. Here's the actual e-mail:

"Thank you for being interested in buying my 2009 Nissan Maxima S automatic transmission, 40,161 miles, VIN : 1N4AA51E89C823477 . It is in EXCELLENT condition; the body and paint are great, no scratches and no dents; the interior is clean; it has never been involved in an accident; the title is clear.
I have recently moved to Portugal. I was hoping to take my car here but when I found out how much shipping and registration would be I've changed my mind. As I'm unable to travel in the near future and I don't have anyone in the US to help me with the sale I decided to make this transaction through eBay. I believe this protects both buyer and seller and it's the right way to do this.
The final price is $2,700. If you decide to buy this car or need further information please get back to me as soon as possible."

Should I trust this?
2. D Says: This is a typical and obvious scam, of the type that appears often on craigslist. If you write back and say you want to buy it they will give you a story about how you have to send the money by western union or some nonsense like that. The fact is there probably is no car, and once you send money it's gone forever. This kind of scam is often run by people outside the country who are impossible to prosecute even if you can track them. Don't fall for this. Nobody "leaves the country" and sells their car for peanuts. They could do do a quick sale to a dealer and get 5 times as much.
3. catmandew Says: You can sidestep would-be scammers by following these common-sense rules:

RULE #1.

DEAL LOCALLY WITH FOLKS YOU CAN MEET IN PERSON
- follow this one rule and avoid 99% of scam attempts on craigslist.
4. MortalGuardian Says: No. This sounds like a scam. Please do not trust this person. As others have said, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Look for a local car that is owned by someone you can meet face to face. Good luck.
5. Bonami Says: How do you take possession of car? The title must be asssigned to you, otherwise it's an invalid sale. You must see and have the assigned title in hand before forking over money. Set up an escrow to pay owner once title is in in hand.
6. webjnke1 Says: Sounds like they're at least honest about being in another country. Where is the car now?

But personally I wouldn't send money overseas. you'd have little chance of getting it back.

Does the seller have a good rating? If this is their first time selling .... I'd be very leary.
7. Clatterin Says: O yeah. I just got a 2008 toyota carolla for 3100. Nothing to it. Same story about portugal. Waiting for shipping company to send me car. :-) can't wait. I would carfax that one to make sure it hasn't been wrecked first.
8. Dov F Says: scam don't do it.
9. STEWIE Says: It would have took you less time to read the SCAM WARNINGS above every Craigslist ad than to pose this question.
10. Hank Scorpio Says: They steal the vins off of ebay for this particular scam. At least that's my understanding of where the vins come from.
11. Evan Says: not really, ive bought dildos on a better bargain that that hunk o' junk. invest in dildos its where the future is at!!! <3 <3 <3 XOXOOXOOXXOX

LOVEEEE

GASSY GIRL!!
12. marcNH Says: http://pages.ebay.com/ebaymotors/buy/purchase-protection/index.html
13. 67Bronco Says: Its a Scam if it sounds to good to be true it usually is.
14. Zux Says: Wo.
15. Trees Says: S C A M
16. Blake p Says: no! dont do it they will scam you! they are full of ****! trust me!
17. Dylan Says: SCAM. I promise you this is a scam.
I bought my car off of craigslist and I had come across these "to good to be true deals"
If they say there are moving, or across sea's, its 99% a scam. If its a recent year and model, and under a reasonable price, its a scam.
Never ever consider even buying a car unless you go and see if for yourself, drive it, and take it to a mechanic... I learned the hard way and had to buy a new transmission 6 months later.
18. alfredb1979 Says: Read this next time:



How to recognize a vehicle scam attempt on CL:

Shipping a vehicle to you is suggested by seller
eBay Motors or another intermediary is specified by seller
Payment by Western Union or a money wire is requested
>>>>>>>>>>>>Price is unusually low (fraction of blue book value)<<<<<<<,

If you see these tell-tale signs, flag ad as "prohibited" and avoid

Offers to ship a vehicle are virtually 100% fraudulent

eBay has no involvment in craigslist for sale ads, and any eBay or similar emails or web pages you receive are fake

Never use Western Union or wire transfer to pay for goods - only a scammer will ask for this, and any funds sent will be lost

Do not buy vehicles site-unseen, regardless of low price. The vehicle does not exist, and any money you send will be lost.


Stories about divorcees or departing servicemen needing to sell quickly at a low price are generally fraudulent

If a deal sounds too good to be true, it probably is!
Tag: Does this car sale sound legitimate?
[Partner]: Auto Classifieds | CellPhone Reviews | Short Funny Jokes | Tuoboo |